
Ruling Squeeze 2 – Phenix 2  (2 Nat B) of 10 January 2015 

 

Board 3  S/EW 

 K 10 9 6 3 

 J 10 6   

 Q 8 7 

 8 4 

 4     A J 7 

 K 4 3    A Q 7 5    

 A K 10 9 4 2    6 5 3   

 J 9 2     10 7 6 

 Q 8 4 2   

 9 8 2 

 J 

 A K Q 5 3 

 

Remarks 

- in the diagram  4 occurs twice (not important), whereas  5 is missing 

- unlike what Team A wrote on the official document it is EW that are vulnerable, not 

NS 

 

Bidding 

N E S W 

 1
A
 1 

1 1NT 3
A
 P  

4 all pass 

 

Facts 

East says South’s 3 was explained by North as 15-17. South on the other hand explains his 

bid to South as distributional, non forcing, opening bid with 5
+
 cards in Clubs and 4 cards in 

Spades. 

Expecting 15-17 HP at her left handside East does not dare to double. 

 

North said he specified to East that he saw 15 HP with his partner as she would have doubled 

with 16-17. He claims that in fact she did have 15 distribution points: 12 HP + 3 for singleton 

Diamonds. He decided to bid 4 knowing that they had a 9 cards fit and hoping that his Q 

would be a useful card. 

 

Ruling 

North and South gave a different explanation of South’s 3. There is a slight disagreement as 

to what exactly North said to East. North claims he restricted his initial explanation (15-17) to 

“I see 15”. This was not contradicted by East, so that we can assume this was indeed what 

North actually said. Even then there were two different explanations.  

As NS’s convention card cannot prove that North’s explanation was correct we have to decide 

his explanation was wrong (Law 75C “the Director is to presume Mistaken Explanation, 

rather than Mistaken Call, in the absence of evidence to the contrary), which means an 

infraction of the law. The question then is whether EW were disadvantaged by that infraction. 

 



East holds 11HP; to play game NS need about 25HP, less if there is considerable 

distributional strength. NS will certainly not hold 25HP as West bid 1 over South’s 1. 

Being vulnerable, West may be supposed to have a sound suit, so East can conclude that 

points are probably about 20-20 or even better for EW.  Even if East has the information on 

South’s 3 that West received, a double on 4 is very risky. 

Four players (level 1 Nat) were asked what they would do with East’s hand if they had 

received the information on the 3 that West got. None of them would have doubled, which 

makes us conclude that EW were not disadvantaged by NS’s infraction. 

 

Decision 

 

The result reached at the table stands. 

 

Paul Meerbergen 

 

 


