
Ruling Namur 2 – Verviers 1  (2 Nat A) of 13 December 2014 

 

Board 27  S/- 

 Q   

 A K J 7 2   

 K Q 9 5  

 9 8 2 

 K 9 8 6 5 3 2   J 10 7 4 

     9   

 J 8 6 3 2    A 7  

 Q     A J 6 5 4 3 

 A   

 Q 10 8 6 5 4 3  

 10 4 

 K 10 7 

Bidding 

N E S W 

4 P  

4 5 Dbl P 

5 all pass 

 

Facts 

In the open room North alerts 4, but says to East that he does not know what 4 means. In a 

mail (also received by the opponents’ captain) East said that North added “ but I think it’s 

Texas”, whereupon he bid 4. East alleges that the alert of 4 prevented him from doubling 

North’s 4.  

4 is not alerted by South. West therefore thinks the bid is natural, which prevents him from 

doubling 

 

Ruling 

The fact that North cannot tell East the meaning of 4 should not have been a problem to 

East: NS’s convention card clearly states that 4 is a preempt in Hearts (7 cards). North is not 

sure, the right way to handle for East is then to look at NS’s convention card. Therefore, 

East’s criticism that he could not double cannot be accepted. If he had doubled West would 

not have had a problem in bidding 5. 

 

North’s remark that he did not know the meaning of 4 is unacceptable (elementary item in 

the system) and caused the problems at the table.  

 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table stands. 

Team A Namur 2 is penalized by 1 VP for not knowing their system. 

 

The final result of the match result Namur 2 – Verviers 1 therefore is 13-16 

 

Paul Meerbergen 

 

 


