
Ruling​ ​Knokke​ ​​ ​1​ ​-​ ​UAE​ ​2​ ​(3​ ​Nat​ ​C)​ ​of​ ​30​ ​September​ ​2017 
 
 
Board​ ​32​ ​​ ​W/EW 
 

♠​​ ​J​ ​8​ ​5​ ​2  
♥​​ ​Q​ ​J​ ​4 
♦​​ ​J​ ​6​ ​3 
♣​​ ​A​ ​J​ ​7 

♠​​ ​A​ ​7​ ​6  ♠​​ ​4​ ​3 
♥​​ ​A​ ​7​ ​6​ ​3 ♥​​ ​10​ ​8​ ​2  
♦​​ ​K​ ​10​ ​5​ ​4 ♦​​ ​9​ ​8​ ​7​ ​2  
♣​​ ​Q​ ​3 ♣​​ ​K​ ​9​ ​5​ ​4 

♠​​ ​K​ ​Q​ ​10​ ​9  
♥​​ ​K​ ​9​ ​5 
♦​​ ​A​ ​Q 
♣​​ ​10​ ​8​ ​6​ ​2 

 
Bidding 
N E S W 

P 
P 1​♣ P P   
1NT P 2​♣​A P 
2​♠ P 4​♠ all​ ​pass 
 
Facts 
Contract​ ​4​♠​​ ​by​ ​North,​ ​result​ ​-1. 
Team​ ​A​ ​complained​ ​about​ ​West’s​ ​opening​ ​bid​ ​of​ ​1​♣​,​ ​holding​ ​4​ ​Diamonds​ ​and​ ​2​ ​Clubs, 
whereas​ ​EW’s​ ​convention​ ​card​ ​says​ ​they​ ​open​ ​1​♦​​ ​with​ ​a​ ​four​ ​card. 
 
Team​ ​B’s​ ​statement:​ ​“We​ ​practically​ ​always​ ​open​ ​1​♣​,​ ​unless​ ​we​ ​hold​ ​a​ ​singleton.  
I​ ​led​ ​​♣​Q;​ ​as​ ​we​ ​don’t​ ​play​ ​Rusinov,​ ​declarer​ ​knows​ ​that​ ​​♣​K​ ​must​ ​be​ ​on​ ​his​ ​right.​ ​Ducking 
♣​Q​ ​and​ ​later​ ​finesse​ ​on​ ​the​ ​​♣​K​ ​would​ ​have​ ​been​ ​enough​ ​to​ ​win​ ​the​ ​contract.” 
 
Note:​ ​apparently​ ​​♣​Q​ ​and​ ​​♣​K​ ​were​ ​switches​ ​either​ ​in​ ​the​ ​statement​ ​or​ ​in​ ​the​ ​diagram. 
 
Ruling 
Apparently​ ​the​ ​convention​ ​card​ ​of​ ​EW​ ​Gilles-De​ ​Bodt​ ​does​ ​not​ ​correspond​ ​to​ ​what​ ​they 
actually​ ​play;​ ​“nous​ ​ouvrons​ ​pratiquement​ ​toujours​ ​d’un​ ​Trèfle,​ ​sauf​ ​avec​ ​singleton”,​ ​whereas 
their​ ​convention​ ​card​ ​says​ ​that​ ​1​♦​​ ​is​ ​opened​ ​when​ ​holding​ ​a​ ​four​ ​card​ ​​♦​​ ​.​ ​Therefore,​ ​we​ ​have 
to​ ​conclude​ ​that​ ​NS​ ​were​ ​given​ ​the​ ​wrong​ ​(incomplete)​ ​information.  
However,​ ​NS​ ​do​ ​not​ ​state​ ​in​ ​what​ ​way​ ​they​ ​were​ ​disadvantaged​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of​ ​the​ ​infraction. 
 
Decision 
The​ ​result​ ​reached​ ​at​ ​the​ ​table​ ​stands. 
The​ ​pair​ ​Gilles-De​ ​Bodt​ ​are​ ​urgently​ ​requested​ ​to​ ​clarify​ ​their​ ​opening​ ​bids​ ​in​ ​their 
convention​ ​card. 
 
Paul​ ​Meerbergen 



 
 


