
Ruling ​ ​Genk​ ​​ ​1​ ​-​ ​Phenix​ ​2​ ​(Nat​ ​1)​ ​of​ ​2​ ​December​ ​2017 
 
 
Board​ ​11​ ​​ ​S/- 
 

♠​​ ​Q​ ​8​ ​7  
♥​​ ​A​ ​Q​ ​7 
♦​​ ​K​ ​8​ ​5 
♣​​ ​J​ ​9​ ​7​ ​5 

♠​​ ​J​ ​9​ ​6​ ​5​ ​2  ♠​​ ​A​ ​10​ ​3 
♥​​ ​10​ ​3 ♥​​ ​K​ ​8​ ​2  
♦​​ ​J​ ​7​ ​6​ ​4​ ​2 ♦​​ ​Q​ ​10  
♣​​ ​4 ♣​​ ​A​ ​K​ ​Q​ ​10​ ​2 

♠​​ ​K​ ​4  
♥​​ ​J​ ​9​ ​6​ ​5​ ​4 
♦​​ ​A​ ​9​ ​3 
♣​​ ​8​ ​6​ ​3 

 
Bidding 
N E S W 

P P 
1NT Dbl Rdbl 2​♠   
P 3NT Dbl​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​4​♦ 
P 4​♠ Dbl all​ ​pass 
 
Facts 
2​♠​​ ​is​ ​explained​ ​by​ ​East​ ​to​ ​North​ ​as​ ​transfer​ ​to​ ​​♣​​ ​as​ ​he​ ​thought​ ​he​ ​and​ ​his​ ​partner​ ​had​ ​decided 
to​ ​ignore​ ​artificial​ ​doubles​ ​on​ ​1NT​ ​openings.​ ​As​ ​3NT​ ​was​ ​doubled​ ​and​ ​West​ ​bid​ ​4​♦​,​ ​East 
concluded​ ​that​ ​2​♠​​ ​might​ ​have​ ​been​ ​natural​ ​and​ ​corrected​ ​to​ ​4​♠​​ ​“just​ ​in​ ​case”.​ ​He​ ​did​ ​not 
correct​ ​his​ ​previous​ ​explanation​ ​of​ ​2​♠​. 
Because​ ​of​ ​East’s​ ​explanation​ ​North​ ​concluded​ ​that​ ​his​ ​partner​ ​was​ ​very​ ​short​ ​in​ ​Clubs​ ​and 
led​ ​a​ ​small​ ​​♣​. 
 
Ruling 
EW’s​ ​convention​ ​card​ ​does​ ​not​ ​mention​ ​anything​ ​in​ ​connection​ ​with​ ​this​ ​bidding​ ​sequence. 
Therefore,​ ​we​ ​have​ ​to​ ​conclude​ ​that​ ​East’s​ ​explanation​ ​to​ ​North​ ​was​ ​wrong. 
North’s​ ​leading​ ​a​ ​small​ ​​ ​​♣​​ ​was​ ​inspired​ ​by​ ​East’s​ ​explanation​ ​of​ ​2​♠​​ ​as​ ​transfer​ ​to​ ​​♣​.​ ​Thanks​ ​to 
this​ ​lead,​ ​West​ ​made​ ​his​ ​contract​ ​of​ ​4​♠​. 
East’s​ ​wrong​ ​explanation​ ​of​ ​2​♠​.​ ​was​ ​an​ ​infraction​ ​of​ ​the​ ​law​ ​and​ ​NS​ ​were​ ​disadvantaged​ ​by 
this​ ​infraction.​ ​Leading​ ​​ ​​♥​A,​ ​​♠​​ ​or​ ​​♦​​ ​would​ ​have​ ​led​ ​to​ ​-1. 
Leading​ ​a​ ​small​ ​​ ​​♣​​ ​cannot​ ​be​ ​looked​ ​upon​ ​as​ ​a​ ​“very​ ​serious​ ​error”,​ ​so​ ​there​ ​is​ ​no​ ​reason​ ​to 
apply​ ​​Law​ ​12​ ​3C(c)​​ ​​(the​ ​non-offending​ ​side​ ​has​ ​not​ ​contributed​ ​to​ ​its​ ​own​ ​damage​ ​by​ ​an 
extremely​ ​serious​ ​error).  
 
Decision 
The​ ​result​ ​reached​ ​at​ ​the​ ​table​ ​is​ ​annulled​ ​and​ ​replaced​ ​by​ ​a​ ​an​ ​adjusted​ ​score​ ​of​ ​​ ​4​♠​​ ​Dbl​ ​by 
West,​ ​minus​ ​1​ ​(instead​ ​of​ ​just​ ​made),​ ​being​ ​-100​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​A​ ​instead​ ​of​ ​-590​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​A. 
The​ ​balance​ ​on​ ​board​ ​11​ ​therefore​ ​is​ ​+150​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​A​ ​instead​ ​of​ ​​ ​+540​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​B​ ​or​ ​+4 
IMPs ​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​A​ ​instead​ ​​ ​of​ ​​ ​+11​ ​IMPs​ ​for​ ​Team​ ​B. 



The​ ​result​ ​of​ ​the​ ​match​ ​​Genk​ ​​ ​1​ ​-​ ​Phenix​ ​2​​ ​therefore​ ​is​ ​96-32​ ​in​ ​IMPs​ ​(instead​ ​of​ ​92-43) 
or​ ​​18,16-1,84​​ ​in​ ​VPs. 
 
Paul​ ​Meerbergen 
 
 




