
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : II B Date : 09 December 2023 

Match : Cercle Perron 7 – Pieterman 2 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Erik Demeulemeester – Bert Van Der Stockt (Pieterman 2) 
EW Marie Depireux – Christian Wynen (Cercle Perron 7) 

Board : 12 Dealer : W Vulnerability : NS Bidding 
       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1 NT = 12-14 HCP (balanced till 5422) 

2  Explained by East to North as Cappelletti (unknown (5)6+ card, (8)9 - 14 HCP) 
 Explained by West to South as Multi-Landy (both majors) 
 
 Playing 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   A J 5 2 
  A 10 9 
  Q 9 7 
  Q 9 5 

 10 9 6 
 K Q J 
 8 3 2 
 K 6 3 2 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     7 3 
     8 5 
     A K J 10 6 5 
     10 8 7 

  K Q 8 4 
 7 6 4 3 2 
 4 
 A J 4 

West North East South 

Pass 1 NT A 2  A Pass 

2  Pass Pass 2  

3  Pass Pass Pass 

    

    

    

    

 W N E S W N E 

1   A      

2        

3        

4        

5        

6        

7        

8        

9        

10        

11        

12        

13        

Result and score : 
3  = by W   110 for EW (Cercle Perron 7) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 
4  -1 by N   100 for EW (Pieterman 2) 
 
Balance : 10 or 0 IMP for Cercle Perron 7 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 57 – 94 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 57 – 94 



Remarks from team A (Cercle Perron 7) 

- - - 

 

Remarks from team B (Pieterman 2) 

Zuid heeft verkeerde uitleg gekregen van 2  tussenbod op 1SA (12-14) opening.  Het bod 
beloofde een onbekend 1-kleurenspel zoals ook op hun systeemkaart staat.  Echter, hij 

kreeg de uitleg “de 2 majeurs”.  Met de juiste uitleg, had hij [South] 2  kunnen dubbelen 

als vervangende Stayman.  Dan biedt zijn partner [North]  en kunnen we 2  of 3  
spelen.  Nu denkt hij [South] dat de tegenpartij de 2 majeurs heeft en past hij. 

De bieding gaat verder 2  – pas – pas.  Nu zegt zijn schermmaat [West] dat het 2  bod 

toch een 1-kleurenspel was, en dus nu ruiten was.  Dubbel op 2  betekent nu niet meer de 

2 majeurs, want daarmee was direct 2  gedubbeld (mits de juiste uitleg).  Dubbel zou straf 

zijn.  Hij [South] biedt nu 2 .  West volgt nu 3 .  Noord kan nu geen 3  meer bieden 

omdat Zuid niet direct 2  heeft geboden. 

Zowel 3  als 3  zijn gemaakt.  Andere tafel speelt 4  in NZ -1. 

 

Analysis 

According to their convention card, EW play Multi-Landy against a strong NT (15-17) and 
the Cappelletti convention against a weak NT (12-14).  Consequently, East’s call and 
explanation were correct and West’s explanation given was different from the partnership 
agreement.  If NS are damaged as a consequence of West’s failure to provide disclosure of 
the meaning of a call, as required by the Laws, then NS are entitled to rectification through 
the award of an adjusted score (Law 40.B.3(a)). 

In order to determine what the final contract would be, had West provided immediately the 
correct explanation, I organised a poll among 3 players form Honour, 2 from 1st division, 3 
from 2nd division and 2 from 3rd national division. 

NS have the following partnership agreement after 2  = Cappelletti : X = Stayman (at least 
(8)9 HCP) ; suit at the 2-level = to play ; suit at the 3-level = game forcing. 
All players with the South hand (10 HCP and 4-5 majors) would now double. 
From the players with the West hand, 4 would now Pass and one of them would redouble 
(= partner bid your suit). 
After a Pass by West it is obvious that North will bid 2  and that East will Pass.  All players 

with the South hand would now resolutely bid 4 . 
To know what happens after a redouble by West, I consulted an expert.  Depending on 
style, North might either Pass or bid 2 .  After a Pass, East will bid 2 ,  South will double 

again for take-out, reinforcing Stayman and then North will bid 2  (or 3  if West would bid 

3 ).  In both cases South will then bid 4 . 

From the above it is clear that, with the correct explanation, NS will always end up in 4 .  
This contract is 1 down as there are 4 fixed losers (2 hearts, 1 diamond and 1 club). 

 

 



Decision 

West’s initial explanation given was different from the partnership agreement. This is an 
infraction of Law 75.B.1.  As a consequence of this infraction, NS were damaged and so 
they are entitled to rectification through the award of an adjusted score.  In line with Law 
12.C.1, I award an assigned adjusted score on board 12 of 4  -1 by North  100 for EW 
(Cercle Perron 7).  The balance on board 12 becomes 0 instead of 10 for Cercle Perron 7 
(both scores result in 0 IMP). 

The result of the match Cercle Perron 7 – Pieterman 2 remains 57 – 94 in IMP or  
3,88 – 16,12 in VP. 

 

 

 

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision within 7 calendar days.  Please refer to 
the new regulations for the treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website 
of the RBBF. 

 

 

 

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 16 December 2023 

 

Robert Ketels 

Tournament Director for the national competition 


