
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : 1 Date : 25 November 2023 

Match : Sandeman 1 – Cercle Perron 2 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Etienne Delangre – Marc Lebas (Cercle Perron 2) 
EW Johnny Schalkx – Tom Van Muylem (Sandeman 1) 

Board : 11 Dealer : S Vulnerability : None Bidding 
       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1  Alerted by North and explained to East as 5+ card  
 Not alerted by South 
 
 Playing 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

   A 9 6 5 3 
  10 
  10 2 
  K 10 5 4 2 

 J 8 4 
 Q J 6 3 2 
 8 3 
 8 7 5 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     10 
     9 7 5 
     A K J 9 7 6 5 
     Q 3 

  K Q 7 2 
 A K 8 4 
 Q 4 
 A J 9 

West North East South 

   1  

Pass 1  A 3  4  

Pass 4  Pass Pass 

Pass    

    

    

    

 W N E S W N E 

1    A     

2        

3        

4        

5        

6        

7        

8        

9        

10        

11        

12        

13        

Result and score : 
4   = by N   420 for NS (Cercle Perron 2) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 
3   +1 by N   170 for EW (Sandeman 1) 
 
Balance : 250 or 6 IMP for Cercle Perron 2 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 42 – 38 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 42 – 32 



Remarks from team A (Sandeman 1) 

1  was not alerted at my side (behind the opener [South]).  He bid 4  and his partner 

corrected to 4 . 

Remarks from team B (Cercle Perron 2) 

With 2 majors and 19 points, I [South] will play 4  or 4 . 

Analysis 

After 1 , the partnership agreement from NS is that 1  promises a 5+ card in spades and 

1  a 5+ card in hearts. 
Apparently, South forgot the partnership agreement (his explanation does not make sense) 
and consequently he did not alert North’s 1  and he bid 4  instead of 4 . 

According to Law 20.F.5(a) ‘Mistaken explanation’ includes failure to alert as regulations 
require.  If EW are damaged as a consequence of South’s failure to provide disclosure of 
the meaning of a call, as required by the Laws, then EW are entitled to rectification through 
the award of an adjusted score (Law 40.B.3(a)). 
The non-alert by South did not influence the bidding nor the playing of West.  Afterwards, it 
was confirmed by EW via e-mail that 4  was a mistaken call and that they were not 
damaged. 

Decision 

North explained correctly the partnership agreement.  South forgot the partnership 

agreement and failed to alert Noth’s 1  bid.  This is an infraction.  EW were not damaged 
as a consequence of this infraction and so they are not entitled to rectification through the 
award of an adjusted score. 
The result on board 11 in the closed room is maintained. 

The result of the match Sandeman 1 – Cercle Perron 2 remains 42 – 38 in IMP or  
11,08 – 8,92 in VP. 

 

 

 

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision within 7 calendar days.  Please refer to 
the new regulations for the treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website 
of the RBBF. 

 

 

 

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 29 November 2023 

 

Robert Ketels 

Tournament Director for the national competition 


