
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : 1 Date : 21 October 2023 

Match : Cercle Perron 4 – Sandeman 1 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Yulian Hristov – Anne-Marie Hardeman (Sandeman 1) 
EW Romain Monticelli – Thomas Monticelli (Cercle Perron 4) 

Board : 17 Dealer : N Vulnerability : None Bidding 
       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1NT (North) = 11-13 balanced ; X (West) = 14+ ; Pass (East) = willing to play 1NT X ;  
Pass (West) = giving East the opportunity to double for penalty 

2  Explained by South to West as  and another suit 

 Explained by North to East as  and  
 
 Playing 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   Q 8 7 
  Q 9 4 2 
  J 4 
  A K J 3 

 9 3 
 A J 8 
 A K Q 10 7 
 10 9 5 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     K J 6 4 
     K 10 7 
     9 8 6 3 
     7 6 

  A 10 5 2 
 6 5 3 
 5 2 
 Q 8 4 2 

West North East South 

 1 NT A Pass Pass 

X A Pass Pass A 2  A 

Pass Pass 2  Pass 

Pass Pass   
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Result and score : 

2   -1 by E   50 for NS (Sandeman 1) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 
3   +1 by W   130 for EW (Sandeman 1) 
 
Balance : 180 or 5 IMP for Sandeman 1 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 36 – 41 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 36 – 36 



Remarks from team A (Cercle Perron 4) 

2  was explained by North to East as both minors and by South to West as clubs and 
another suit. 
West passed so that East can double for penalty 
East does not want to play 2 clubs doubled and as he was told that South had minors he 
said 2 spades and not 2 diamonds. 

Remarks from team B (Sandeman 1) 

The remark of team A is correct.  South forgot for a moment the partnership agreements. 
It is not certain that East is going to choose 2 diamonds even if he knows that 2 clubs by 
South means clubs plus something else (also possible diamonds). 

Analysis 

At my request, the team Sandeman 1 provided me a copy of their system book, wherein the 
following is mentioned. 

 After a double of the 2nd hand after a weak NT then a bid at the 2 level promises at 
least a 4-card in that suit + another higher suit (DONT) 

 After a double of the 4th hand after a weak NT and a Pass by opener, then 2 clubs 
promises both minors. 

From the above, as it was a double from the 4th hand, it is clear that the partnership 
agreement was explained correctly by North but not by South. 

From East’s point of view, when the partnership agreement has been explained correctly, 
the mistake being the call made and not the explanation, there is no infraction.  Regardless 
of damage, the result stands (law 75 C). 

From West’s point of view the situation is different.  Although he got the correct description 
of the South hand, he did not receive the explanation in accordance with the partnership 
agreement and therefore there is an infraction at the SW side of the screen (Law 75.B.1). 
If EW are damaged as a consequence of South’s failure to provide disclosure of the 
meaning of a call, as required by the Laws, then EW are entitled to rectification through the 
award of an adjusted score (Law 40.B.3(a)). 

I have asked West what he would have done with the correct explanation (2  =  + ).  

West confirmed that he would still have passed, hoping that East doubles 2  for penalty 

and if the opponents then bid 2  he doubles for penalty. 

Decision 

North explained correctly the partnership agreement.  South made a mistaken call.  
Therefore there is no infraction at the NE side of the screen.  At the SW side of the screen, 
the mistaken explanation by South is an infraction of Law 75.B.1.  EW were not damaged as 
a consequence of this infraction and so they are not entitled to rectification through the 
award of an adjusted score. 
The result on board 17 in the closed room is maintained. 

The result of the match Cercle Perron 4 – Sandeman 1 remains 36 – 41 in IMP or  
8,66 – 11,34 in VP. 

 



 

 

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision within 7 calendar days.  Please refer to 
the new regulations for the treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website 
of the RBBF. 

 

 

 

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 29 October 2023 

 

Robert Ketels 

Tournament Director for the national competition 


