
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : II A Date : 14 October 2023 

Match : Sandeman 2 – BBC 5 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Patrick Finaut – Odette Van De Wiele (Sandeman 2) 
EW Nourredine Tifous – Eric Lemaire (BBC 5) 

Board : 29 Dealer : N Vulnerability : All Bidding 
       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

3  Explained by East to North as  and  

 Explained by West to South as long   
 
 Playing 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

   Q 6 
  10 
  10 4 
  A K Q J 9 8 5 2 

 A 7 5 
 K J 6 4 
 9 7 6 
 10 7 4 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     K 10 4 3 2 
     7 2 
     A Q J 8 5 
     3 

  J 9 8 
 A Q 9 8 5 3 
 K 3 2 
 6 

West North East South 

 1  3  A 3  

Pass 5  A Pass 5  A 

Pass Pass Pass  
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Result and score : 
5   -4 by S   400 for EW (BBC 5) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 

4   = by N   130 for NS (BBC 5) 
 
Balance : 530 or 11 IMP for BBC 5 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 20 – 91 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 20 – 80 



Remarks from team A (Sandeman 2) 

3  explained by East to North as  and  and by West to South as long . 
No explanations on system card, neither in system book at the table.  After the match it is 
indeed in system book 

5  for South is asking.  South’s answer 5  is second round Ctl at . 

Remarks from team B (BBC 5) 

NIHIL 

Analysis 

In their remarks, team A forgot to mention what the correct meaning is of 3 .  The players 
of team B provided me a copy of their system book and therein the following is mentioned: 
“Bicolores Ghestem: sur les mineures […] 1  - 3  = bicouleur  & ”.  Consequently, the 
partnership agreement has been explained correctly by East but not by West. 

If NS are damaged as a consequence of West’s failure to provide disclosure of the meaning 
of a call, as required by the Laws, then NS are entitled to rectification through the award of 
an adjusted score (Law 40.B.3(a)). 

With the given explanation by West “long “, it is impossible for South to understand the bid 

of 5  by North.  With the correct explanation it is obvious that South would have passed 
(no need to organise a poll for this one). 

The contract of 5  will go down 1 trick (you can’t avoid losing two spades and a diamond).  
This is confirmed by the result in the other room and the double dummy analysis. 

Decision 

The mistaken explanation by West is an infraction of Law 75.B.1.  As a consequence of this 
infraction, NS were damaged and so they are entitled to rectification through the award of 
an adjusted score.  In line with Law 12.C.1, I award an assigned adjusted score on board 29 
of 5  -1 by North  100 for EW (BBC 5).  The balance on board 29 becomes 230 or 6 IMP 
for BBC 5 instead of 530 or 11 IMP for BBC 5. 

The result of the match Sandeman 2 – BB5 becomes 20 – 86 in IMP or 1,17 – 18,83 in VP 
instead of 20 – 91 in IMP or 0,82 – 19,18 in VP. 

 

 

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision within 7 calendar days.  Please refer to 
the new regulations for the treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website 
of the RBBF. 

 

 

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 23 October 2023 

 

Robert Ketels 

Tournament Director for the national competition 


