
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : III D Date : 14 October 2023 

Match : Argayon 1 – Smohain 2 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Daniel Hocq – Pascaline Leblu  (Argayon 1) 
EW Jean de Villenfagne de Vogelsanck – Hedwig Fiems (Smohain 2) 

Board : 26 Dealer : E Vulnerability : All Bidding 
       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 Playing 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

   J 9 5 
  K 10 8 2 
  A J 2 
  10 7 3 

 A Q 
 Q 6 
 Q 10 9 7 4 
 A K 8 6 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     8 6 3 2 
     A J 9 4 
     K 5 3 
     Q 2 

  K 10 7 4 
 7 5 3 
 8 6 
 J 9 5 4 

West North East South 

  Pass Pass 

1  Pass 1  Pass 

2 NT Pass 3 NT Pass 

Pass Pass   

    

    

    

 W N E S W N E 

1   J  2  K  A   

2  4  2  K  8    

3    3  6 10  J  

4   9  3  4 
….. 
 Q   

5  7  A  5  3    

6   2  A  5  Q   

7    Q  4  6  3  

8    2  5  K  7  

9  A 10 ?  9    

10  Q ? ? ?    

11  9 ? ? ?    

12        

13        

Result and score : 
3 NT = by W   600 for EW (Smohain 2) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 
3NT +2 by W   660 for EW (Argayon 1) 
 
Balance : 60 or 2 IMP for Argayon 1 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 69 – 55 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 67 – 55 
 



Remarks from team A (Argayon 1) 

After playing the second round of spades, West hesitates for about 30 seconds before finally 
playing the Queen.  For North, the distribution of the spades is 3-4-3-3 and North decides not 
to play them any longer. 
This behaviour is not admissible, even though the result remains the same.  West deserves a 
serious warning. 

Remarks from team B (Smohain 2) 

I [West] have not the slightest impression to have hesitated.  In any case, even if he [North] 
continued spades, this does not change one trick in the result. 

Analysis 

Once more, both teams give a different version of the facts and leave it to the tournament 
director, who was not present at the venue, to determine who is wright. 

There are some particularities that all point in one direction. 

 Why would the team Argayon, who obtained a positive balance on the board and 
clearly stated that it did not affect the result, request for a ruling? 
The only reason that I can think of, is that they found it very unfair by West to have 
hesitated with a singleton. 

 On the  return by North in trick 6, why did the declarer play the  A and not a  

small ?  South is not the dangerous hand as there is still a stop  in dummy. 

With the  K on side he now has easily 11 tricks.  Why is he giving away 2 tricks and 
potentially 2 IMP?  Is he hoping that NS will not request a ruling in this case? 

 At the end of play, the declarer (West) concedes the last two tricks.  According to 
Law 68.C, the player making the concession must face his hand.  Instead of doing 
so, West folds his cards and puts them back in the board.  Only after North’s request 
to see West’s hand, it became clear that, at the end of play, West still held a small 
heart and club and not a spade.  Was West trying to conceal an infraction (violation 
of Law 72.B.3)? 

Based on the above and in line with Law 85.A, I asses that there was a clear hesitation by 
West with a singleton. 

A player may not attempt to mislead an opponent by the hesitancy of play as in hesitating 
before playing a singleton (law 73.D.2).  West might have been aware at the time of his 
action that it could work to his benefit, as afterwards he managed to mitigate the 
consequences by giving away two tricks.  Consequently, EW have not gained an advantage 
through the irregularity, and therefore NS are not entitled to rectification through the award 
of an adjusted score (law 73.E.2). 

Deliberately misleading an opponent during the play e.g. by a hesitation normally merits a 
disciplinary penalty (reference White Book of the EBU). 
As I see no firm proof that West’s hesitation was done deliberately, I am giving a serious 
warning instead of a penalty of a number of VPs.  This kind of reprehensible conduct should 
not be repeated. 
  



Decisions 

There was a clear hesitation by West for which he had no demonstrable bridge reason. 
As NS were not damaged as a consequence of the hesitation, they are not entitled to a 
rectification of the score. 
The result on the board 26 in the open room is maintained. 

The result of the match Argayon 1 – Smohain 2 remains 69 – 55 in IMP or  
12,78 – 7,22 in VP. 

Additionally, I give a serious warning to the West player as he misled an opponent by 
hesitating before playing a singleton. 

 

 

 

 

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision within 7 calendar days.  Please refer to 
the new regulations for the treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website 
of the RBBF. 

 

 

 

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 25 October 2023 

 

 

Robert Ketels 

Tournament Director for the national competition 


