Ruling Report National Competition

Royal Belgian
Bridge Federation

Division : | Date : 19 November 2022

Match : Cercle Perron 3 — Sandeman 1

Board: 20 Dealer: W  Vulnerability :
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Result and score :
2% +2by W - 130 for EW (C Perron 3)

Result and score in the other room :
2a +1byS - 140 for NS (C Perron 3)

Balance : 270 for C Perron 3 = +7 IMP
Result of the match with this board
IMP : 38 — 36

Result of the match without this board
IMP : 31 — 36




Remarks from team A (Cercle Perron 3)
Mme A. Gobbe a arbitré et Mr E. Damseaux

Remarks from team B (Sandeman 1)

1 & is placed on the tray by East. North wants to push the tray. East notices the double by
North. East says he made a mistake and changes his bid in 1

Honour is also playing in Perron and a TD is called. The TD comes to the table and says
she is not sure and runs away. After 5 minutes waiting the tray is pushed through with 1

on the tray. After the board the TD says she would not accept the 1 ¢ change.

Analysis

According to the screen regulations a call is made as soon as the bidding card is placed on
the tray and released. As East initially had not noticed the double of North, the bid of 1 & is
intended and so Law 25.B applies with this understanding that it is not up to South (the left
hand opponent) but to North (the screen mate) to decide whether or not to accept the
change of call.

Although this is a pretty straight forward technical ruling, the TD directing in Honour Division
first wanted to consult the screen regulations to be 100% sure.

As it took some time for the TD to come back to the table with a ruling, North decided to
push the tray to the other side with the changed call (1 ¢). By doing so, North accepted for
his side the change of call and now play must continue without any further rectification.
Hereby North breached Law 9.B.2 as, once the attention has been drawn to an irregularity,
no player should take any action until the director has explained all matters in regard to
rectification.

When there is a request for a ruling, it is a standard procedure that the system cards of both
pairs are checked to see if they are +/- in line with the guidance on the website. According
to section 27.01 of the national team regulations they must be filled in completely and
sufficiently detailed, perfectly readable and drafted in English.

The system card of the pair Philippe Yans — Jean-Louis Swalué (Cercle Perron 3) is poorly
filled in (a lot of empty cases) and lacks basic information. After consultation with the
competition director, we demand that before the next match (26/11/22) the system card is
completed [section 27.02(a)]. The reviewed/updated system card must be uploaded on the
website of the Federation the latest by Friday evening (25/11/22).

Decisions

The result on board 20 is maintained

The result of the match Cercle Perron 3 — Sandeman 1 remains 38 — 36 in IMP or
10,55-9,45in VP

Additionally, | give to the player Rene Laenen (Sandeman 1) a warning for undertaking an
action before the director came back to the table with a ruling.

Finally, | give a warning to the pair Philippe Yans — Jean-Louis Swalué (Cercle Perron 3) for
their deficient system card. This must be remediated before the next match (26/11/22).



Both teams can file an appeal against this decision. Please refer to the regulations for the
treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website of the RBBF.

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs-Sint-Amands) on 21 November 2022

Robert Ketels
Tournament Director for the national competition



