
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : III D Date : 08 October 2022 

Match : DUA 2 – Charleroi 2 Open/Closed Room 

Players: NS Vincent MAROQUIN - Christian MARCHAL (Charleroi 2) 
EW Tamara STOJANOVIC - Joost PENNINCK (DUA 2) 

Board : 26 Dealer : E Vulnerability : None Bidding 
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Result and score : 
4 X -4 by N -4   => 1100 for EW (DUA 2) 
 
Result and score in the other room : 
3NT +2 by E    => 660 for EW (Charleroi 2) 
 
Balance : 440 for DUA 2 = + 10 imp 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP : 83-78 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP : 73-78 
 
 



Remarks from team A 
Uitleg West over 2 (Drury) is correct. 
Bod van oost (2) is een vergissing 
 
Remarks from team B 
Aprés le Pass de East, West ouvre de 1. East enchérit 2 non alerté du côté N/E mais 
alerté du côté S/W comme étant Drury.  South pouvant mettre maintenant ses 6 cartes  
en valeur et décide d’enchérir 4.  West contre pour 4 chutes. 
Si South sait que East a des vrais trèfles, alors l’enchère normale est 2!  Après alerte, 
West explique que 2 promet le fit troisième et 9-11 HCP.  Son enchère sera donc de 4 
avec 16HPC et 1 singleton.  Nous demandons la transformation en 4-1 by N. 
 
Analysis 
Facts: 

- 2 was alerted by West and explained to South as “drury”. 
- 2 was not alerted by East. 

 

The correct meaning of 2 is shown on the convention card: “inverted drury; rebid of 2M is 
weak”.  The partnership agreement has thus been correctly explained by West to South.  
So there is no infraction at the South/West side of the screen.   
When the partnership agreement has been explained correctly, there is no infraction and, 
regardless of damage, the result stands (law 75 C). 
 
Decision 
West explained correctly the partnership agreement.  East deviated from his side’s 
understandings.  As there is no infraction, NS are not entitled to a rectification of the score. 
The result on board 26 in the closed room is maintained.   
The result of the match DUA 2 – Charleroi 2 remains 83 – 78 in IMP or 11,07 – 8,93 in VP. 
 
Additionally, I give to the EW pair Tamara STOJANOVIC - Joost PENNINCK (DUA 2) a 1 
VP penalty because of system disruption of a basic convention in the first round. 
 
Both teams can file an appeal against this decision. Please refer to the regulations for the 
treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website of the RBBF. 
 
Done at Deinze on 12 October 2022 
 
Dirk Logghe 
Tournament Director for the national competition 


