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Ruling Report National Competition

Division : Ere Date : 13-11-2021
Match: BBC 1-U.A.E. 1 Closed Room

Players: NS Sam Bahbout — Mike van der Vorst
EW Philippe Coenraets - Zvi Engel

Board: 15 Dealer: S  Vulnerability : NS Bidding
Board: 15 A972 West | North | East | South
Dealer: S '§Cj43 2D
Vul.: NS ¢ 9:4’ X XX P 28
AG43 il AJT
vJ9 N YKT75 P 3D 3H X
¢AK982 [WN\_E| QT P 4D P 4H
*QJ6 S ®T7532 P 5D P 58
Navea A AKQS85 0 P 6D P 6S
N2421 '-‘\Q3 = 5 b
524:17 *J6 11|HCP| 6
\]; . SAKS 23
Playing
W/ N |  E| S| W|N E Result and score : 6S-2, NS -200
1
2
3 Result and score in the other room :
4 4S+1, NS +650
5
6 Balance : -850
7
8 Result of the match with this board
9 35 - 37
10
11 Result of the match without this board
12 29 - 37
13




Remarks from team BBC 1

West doubled and explained opening in D, which turned out to be the systematically wrong
explanation, it should have been takeout on heatrts.

Remarks from team U.A.E.1

The 2D opening from South showed some sort of weak bid in hearts or various strong
openings. South originally planned to rebid 2NT, showing 24-26 balanced. Because of a
lack of diamond stop he bid 2S, explaining it to be 4+S. Normally a 2S bid would show GF
in C+D, but apparently South either forgot, or thought it would not be true when the
diamond suit is behind him. North had the correct explanation and continued giving
preference in D until he gave up. South also claimed that a 2NT rebid would have been GF.

The team did not supply me with a system book, even after several questions.

Analysis

Given the lack of system book | am going to rule based on my understanding of what
happened.

West gave the wrong systemic explanation of his bid. With the correct explanation it is
virtually certain South would have rebid 2NT. After 2NT it gets more difficult, North has a
very bad hand and might well decide to pass. A poll among good players showed a serious
percentage of passers.

Now another question is whether law 12C1e comes into play. Isn’t the bidding of NS,
especially the 2S call of South not a very serious error? In my opinion this error is serious,
but maybe not very serious, and furthermore | think it is related to the infraction by W. So |
will not use law 12C1e.

Decision
NS 50% of 2NT= and 50% of 4S=

On the first day of the competition an appeal committee gave a penalty of 1 VP to the
offending side for insufficient knowledge of their own system. The committee found that
system errors at this level are inexcusable especially if it involves a 2-colour game. | am
not convinced that this applies in this case (double shows only one colour). Therefore |
give only a warning to the pair Philippe Coenraets - Zvi Engel for insufficient knowledge of
their own system.

A clear guideline for the TD’s from the national appeal commission would be highly
appreciated so that penalties can be given on an uniform and known basis.

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision. Please refer to the regulations for the
treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website of the RBBF.

Done on 17 November 2021

Hans van Staveren
Tournament Director



