
Ruling Report National Competition 
 
 

 

Division : III B Date : 02 February 2019 

Match : Riviera 5 – Perron 7 Closed Room 

Players: NS Monticelli Thomas – Monticelli Roman (Perron 7) 
EW Robert Ketels – Emiel Oosters (Riviera 5)  

Board : 06 Dealer : E Vulnerability : EW Bidding 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 Playing 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

   A 
  A 5 4 2 
  Q J 3 2 
  9 8 5 4 

 K 10 9 8 6 3 2 
 8 7 
 K 9 8 5 
 - 

       N 
   W E 
       S 

     Q J 7 
     K Q 10 6 3 
     10 6 4 
     K Q 

    5 4 
   J 9 
   A 7 
   A J 10 7 6 3 2 

West North East South 

  1  2  

3  5  PAS PAS 

Dbl PAS 5  6  

PAS PAS Dbl PAS 

PAS PAS   
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Result and score : 
6  ! -2 by S      => 300 for EW  
 
Result and score in the other room : 
5  ! -1 by S   => 100 for EW 
 
Balance : 200 for Riviera 5 = + 5 IMP 
 
 
Result of the match with this board 
IMP: 32 - 72 
 
Result of the match without this board 
IMP: 27 - 72 
 



Remarks from team A 
According to the alert procedure, 3 must go without alert if preemptive with 7+ card. 
Subsequent explanation: 

- “3 is natural” = correct 
- “Stronger than 2” = correct 

On the convention card is shown: “After intervention of the opponents a new suit on 2 or 3 
level is non forcing”. 
 

Remarks from team B 
3 was not alerted. 
When the bidding came back to me at 5, South asked: “what was 3?“.  West told me it 
was natural and when I asked whether it was stronger than 2, he told me yes. 
Given that information I (South) bid 6 which was doubled and 2 down. 
Knowing it was weak, I (South) would settle for 5 doubled. 
 

Analysis 
Facts: 

- 3 was alerted by East but no questions were asked by North. 
- 3 was not alerted by West.  Questions were asked by South. 

 

The correct meaning is shown on the convention card: “After intervention of the opponents 
a new suit on 2 or 3 level is non forcing”.   
According to the Alert Procedure 3 should be alerted: 
 “Following bids should be alerted: 
Non-forcing jump changes of suit responses to opening bids or overcalls, and 
nonforcing new suit responses by an unpassed hand to opening bids of one of a 
suit.” 
 

South asked two questions to West.  The answer on the first question is Ok.   
On the second question, West should have given the full explanation. 
L40B5(a) clearly states the following: 
“When explaining the significance of partner’s call or play in reply to an opponent’s enquiry 
(see Law 20) a player shall disclose all special information conveyed to him through 
partnership agreement or partnership experience” 
This is the principle of “full disclosure”.   
As the explanations of West is not in accordance to the partnership understandings, 
L40B5(b) gives the director the power to adjust the score if NZ are thereby damaged. 
 
The question is what south would have bid with the right explanation and if this makes a 
difference for the bidding of South with the given explanation. 
  



I consulted 5 players (1 from 1st national division, 1 from 2nd national division and 3 from 
3rd national division) which gave following result: 
 

West North East South 
  1  2  

3  5  PAS PAS 
Dbl PAS 5  ? 

Correct explanation from system card:  4 players would pass and 1 player would double. 
Explanation Given at the table: 4 players would pass and 1 player would double. 
 
We can conclude that South was not damaged in his actions because all the consulted 
players would have done the same action with both explanations. 
 
Decision 
 

NS were not damaged as a consequence of the incomplete explanation/Alert Failure by 
West.  Consequently the score on board 6 (in the closed room) of 300 for EW is maintained. 
The result of the match Riviera 5 – Perron 7 remains 32 – 72 in IMP or 3,54 – 16,46 in VP. 
 
Additionally, I give to the pair Robert Ketels – Emiel Oosters a warning for not giving full 
disclosure.of their partnership agreements. 
 
 
 
Both teams can file an appeal against this decision.  Please refer to the regulations for the 
treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website of the RBBF. 
 
 
 
Done at Deinze on 14 February 2019. 
 
 
 
Dirk Logghe  
Tournament Director for the national competition 


