Ruling Report National Competition

Bridgs Federation
Division : 1l B Date : 02 February 2019
Match : Namur 1 — Cercle Perron 5 OpeniClosed Room

Board : 8 Dealer: W  Vulnerability : - Bidding
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Playing
N E|S|W|N|E Result and score :
1 A2 a10| A3 a4 3NT -1byS - 50 for EW (Namur 1)
2 v2|v3|v8|wvlJ
3 +3/¢Ale4d]e5 Result and score in the other room :
4 vAlv5lvalevk 3NT +1by S - 430 for NS (Namur 1)
5 v6|v7
6 Balance : 480 for Namur 1 =+ 10 IMP
7
8 Result of the match with this board
9 IMP : 68 — 69
10
11 Result of the match without this board
12 IMP : 59 — 69
13




Remarks from team A (Namur 1)

Quand la déclarante [Sud] a demandé “coeur” (qui veut normalement clairement dire le plus
petit cceur du mort) j'ai [Est] marqué un temps avant de couvrir de mon 7 (au cas ou la
déclarante aurait changé d’avis “dans la méme souffle”).

Remarks from team B (Cercle Perron 5)

Le contrat joué est 3SA. Apres I'As de cceur, la déclarante a dit cceur. Petit coeur a été mis -
a la table pour le 7 de cceur d’Est. Or elle n’y avait aucun intérét a ne pas jouer le 10 de
coeur.

Analysis

If declarer designates a suit but not a rank, which is an incomplete designation, he is
deemed to have called the lowest card of the suit indicated (except when declarer’s
different intention is incontrovertible) (Law 46.B.2).

With 10 — 9 — 6 in dummy and still a certain loser in that suit it is not incontrovertible that the
declarer had a different intent at the moment he called for a heart (which might have been
different with e.g. A — K — x and only one heart missing).

A played card may be withdrawn and returned to the hand without further rectification after
a change of designation permitted by Law. This means that declarer may correct an
unintended designation of a card from dummy until he next plays a card from either his own
hand or from dummy. A change of designation may be allowed after a slip of the tongue,
but not after a loss of concentration or a reconsideration of action. (Law 45.C.4.(b)).

Here there is no slip of the tongue and it could very well have been that for a split of a
second the declarer lost concentration when calling for a heart.

Decisions

The score on board 8 (in the closed room) of 50 for EW is maintained. The result of the
match Namur 1 — Cercle Perron 5 remains 68 — 69 in IMP or 9,78 — 10,22 in VP.

Both teams can file an appeal against this decision. Please refer to the regulations for the

treatment of an appeal, which can be consulted on the website of the RBBF.

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs) on 12 February 2019.

Robert Ketels
Tournament Director for the national competition



