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P Ruling Report National Competition

Bridge Foneation
Division : Honour Date : 06" October 2018
Match : Round2 B.C.O0.B.1-B.C.O0B.3 Open/Slesed Room

Players: NS Valérie Labaere — Alain Labaere (B.C.O.B. 1)
EW Faramarz Bidgeli — Louis-Carl Speleers (B.C.O.B. 3)

Board: 14 Dealer: E  Vulnerability : None
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Facts and analysis

1. The contract is 6¢ X by West. The result noted at the table by both pairs is 4 down for
a score of 800 for NS (lead K v). This result was also recorded in the Bridgemate.
After the match, the official score sheet was distributed (around 16.10 Hr). Both teams
acknowledged that all scores were correct.

2. In the early evening of Sunday 7 October the Competition Director (CD) received a
phone call from Guy Pollet (captain B.C.O.B. 3), who asked whether it was possible to
change a wrongly encoded score on board 14 in the match BCOB 1 - BCOB 3 of
6 October 2018. Apparently Guy had noticed that -4 (800) was impossible with any
plan and that -3 (500) was the correct score.

The CD sent an e-mail to both captains involved saying that on the basis of Section
43.03 of the National Teams Regulations the result could be corrected, but only after
both captains had given their consent in writing. The same evening the CD received a
reply from Alain Labaere (playing at the table of the incident) who agreed with the
change. He gave more explanations of what had actually happened : the score that
was encoded was the score agreed upon at the table after a claim (concession): four off
doubled (800).



3. The fact that the contested score was the result of a claim (concession) somewhat
changes the situation.
Law 71 of the International Code says
"A concession must stand, once made, except that within the Correction Period
established under Law 79C the Director shall cancel a concession:
A. ifa player conceded a trick his side had, in fact, won; or
B. if a player has conceded a trick that could not be lost by any normal play of the
remaining cards.
The board is rescored with such trick awarded to his side.”

4. Law 79C1 says that "Unless the Tournament Organizer specifies a later time, the
Correction Period expires 30 minutes after the official score has been made available
for inspection.”

5. In Law 79C2 we read that "Subject to approval by the Tournament Organizer, a scoring
error may be corrected after expiry of the Correction Period if the Director is satisfied
beyond reasonable doubt that the record is wrong.”

6. Section 43.03 of the National Teams Regulations implicitly lengthens the period of
30 minutes for possible corrections of errors.

7. As itis not clear in the regulations if the possibility to extend the period for correcting
scoring errors also applies for the cancellation of a concession, | contacted an EBL
Assistant Chief TD (from the Netherlands). After reflection he confirmed that the
possibility to extend the period also applies to law 71 because of the sentence “The
board is rescored ...".

8. Taking into account that:
a. both pairs agreed that a trick was conceded that could not be lost by any normal
play of the remaining cards;
b. itis impossible with any normal plan to make less than 9 tricks (confirmed by the
double dummy solver)
| am convinced beyond reasonable doubt that the record is wrong.

Decision

The board 14 is rescored. The new score is 500 for NS (6+ X by West -3). The balance on
board 14 becomes +440 for B.C.0.B. 3 = + 10 IMP (closed room : 6 by South +1).

The result of the match B.C.O.B. 1 — B.C.0O.B. 3 becomes 64 — 25 in IMP or

17,97 — 2,03 in VP (instead of 64 — 19 in IMP and 18,66 — 1,34 in VP).

Done at Ruisbroek (Puurs) on 19 October 2018

Robert Ketels
Tournament Director



