Ruling Nobele Donk 1 - Cercle Perron 6 (3 Nat C) of 21 January 2017

Board 7 S/all

A XXX

vK76

*J

«0Q98753
AaA9762 a8
v 102 vQJ54
8652 ¢+ Q1094
%64 % KJ102

aKQJ10

vA983

¢ AK73

A
Bidding
N E S W

le P

INT P 3NT all pass

Facts
Play:
N E S W N E S W
v5 v3 vl0 ¥K
v7 vJ) vA v2
A10 aA A3 A8
*5 N ¢Q oA
v9 A2 ®3 vQ
10 oK X &5
v3 aA? v6 v4

EW stopped playing after the 7th trick saying that the result was -1 because of an established
revoke by North. Perron points out that Nobele Donk did not want to finish the game and that
the contract would have been just made if play been been continued.

Ruling

EW did not point out any line of play, but apparently it was clear to all four players that the
contract was just made; in fact EW claimed two more tricks on top of the two they already
had and conceded the remaining tricks. After this claim play had to be stopped (Law 68D)
The result reached at the table therefore was 3NT and that result had to be noted on the score
sheet, which was rightfully done.

However, North revoked. The revoke became established when ¢ K was played from dummy
(Law 63). The revoker (North) did not win the trick of the revoke, but NS did win tricks
afterwards. Therefore NS have to transfer one trick to EW (Law 64A2).



Decision

The result reached at the table is annulled and replaced by 3NT by North -1.
The balance on board 7 then is +12 IMPs for Team A instead of +1.

The final result of the match is 43-42 in IMPs or 15-15 in VPs

Note: this result was communicated to all concerned on 1 February 2017.

Paul Meerbergen



