
Ruling Cercle Perron 4  - Squeeze 3 (2 Nat A) of 10 December 2016 

 

Preliminary remarks: 

- This request for ruling reached me on 12 February 2017 

- In the diagram there is one Club too many and one Heart too short 

- On board 4 it is not North who is dealer (as was mentioned on the request), but West 

 

Board 4  W/All 

 

 A 7    

 A J 6 5 4 3 2 

 Q 

 A J 6 

 8 x      K Q 10 9 3 2  

 K x x      7    

 J 10 x x    A K 9 7 3 2 

 Q x x x     - 

 J 6 5   

 Q 10 8 

 8 6 

 K 10 8 5 3 

 

Bidding 

N E S W 

   (P?) 

1 3
A
 3 P

 

4 all pass 

 

Facts 

Statement of Team A. 3 was duly alerted. North asked East not to say anything; East wrote 

down the explanation of the bid on a slip op paper: K + P (attached to the request for ruling). 

North did not ask for any explanation. 

Statement of Team B. North did not ask what 3 meant, but after the bid of 4 East showed 

the slip of paper saying K + P. As I thought that the word for Diamonds in French starts with 

a C, I thought the opponent had  and . After the lead of A I ruffed K and played Hearts 

because I expected a void in Clubs. Because of this misplay the contract was one down. 

 

Ruling 

The Regulations of the Belgian Teams Competition §32 says that English is the official 

language to be used in the competition unless agreed otherwise at the table. 

As there was no complaint as to the use of the language and no mention of it was made in the 

request for ruling, it seems that neither team insisted on using English. 

 

Law 21A of the International Code of Laws says “No rectification or redress is due to a 

player who acts on the basis of his own misunderstanding.”  

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table stands. 

 



Paul Meerbergen 

 

 


