Ruling Cercle Perron 4 - Pieterman 1 (2 Nat A) of 26 November 2016
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Declaration Team A. “On the third round of Hearts North says ‘Sorry, I had a # in the
previous trick.’ He takes back the # he had played in that trick and plays his second w. After
a small talk between East and West, West says: ’It’s OK for me, it’s my responsibility,; I want
to play normally.” West in hand with ¥Q plays # and the contract is made +1.”

Declaration Team B. “East opened INT (9-11). East leads 3 for West’s Ace. He continues
with 9. After a long thought K is played in North. Diamonds from North is won by West,
who then plays ¥ for East’s ¥K. East returns ¥ for J and Q and North revokes by playing a
small ».

West then plays ¥ and North makes his contract +1.”

Ruling

North realized and announced his revoke before he or his partner had played in the next trick;
therefore, the revoke was not established (Law 63). The revoke had to be corrected: the
offender withdraws the card he played and substitutes a legal card (Law 62).

By withdrawing his small a and substituting it by a ¥ North acted according to the Law. As
he was declarer the a could be replaced into his hand without further rectification.

West played a card in the following trick, but after the correction of the revoke he was entitled
to withdraw that card and return it to his hand.

Team A says that in the next trick West played a small &, whereas Team B says he played .
Fact is that both parties agree that West returned the wrong card, as a result of which North
made 10 tricks.



According to Team B West was completely put off by the commotion at the table after the
revoke and as a result played the wrong card. However, this cannot be a reason to adjust the
score as apparently the revoke was treated as it had to be.

Decision
The result reached at the table stands
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