
Ruling Cercle Perron 3 – Teuten 1  (2 Nat B) of 15 October 2016 

 

Board 13  N/All 

 

 9    

 K 5 4 

 A 10 9 5 

 A J 10 8 2 

 K 8 7 6 3     J 5 

 J 9      Q 8 7 6 2   

 K Q 4 3    2  

 Q 3     9 7 6 5 4 

 A Q 10 4 2   

 A 10 3 

 J 8 7 6 

 K 

Bidding 

N E S W 

1 P 1 1 

P 2 P 2 

P 3 Dbl 3 

Dbl 3 Dbl P 

P 3 Dbl all pass
 

 

Facts 

Screens are in use. 

Statement of Team A (EW): North alerts South’s 1 as  4+, but South does not alert it to 

West. 

West says he wouldn’t have bid 1 if he had known that 1 showed 4+. Before the start of 

the match Team B had not said they played T-Walsh. 

 

South on the other hand says she did alert 1 as  4+, as – she wrote - it is described in her 

convention card, and she adds that the opponent did not ask for any explanation. 

 

Result 3x by West -5, -1400 for Team A. 

Result in the open room 3NT+1, 630 for Team A. 

 

Ruling 

The statements of West and South as to the alert of 1 are contradictory.  

 

South claims she alerted 1 as 4+, but adds that the opponent did not ask for any 

information; this remark and the reference to her convention card seems to imply that she did 

not explain anything in word. 

 

Further communication with the captains by e-mail clarified the situation. West says that in 

the conversation both players had after the match about the alert both players were sincere in 

what they said. He believes South when she said that she alerted her 1  bid (with her hand 

though, not with the alert card), but that he didn't see her doing so. As he didn't see her alert, 

he didn't ask what 1  meant (natural he thought) and bid 1S.  



 

 

The Regulations for Bidding boxes of the EBL stipulate that “Alerts should be made by use of 

the Alert card. It is the responsibility of the alerting player to ensure that both his opponents 

are aware of the alert.” (see also Appendix of the Laws). (Remark: when screens are in use 

‘opponents’ should be singular meaning the screen mate.) 
 

The EBL Regulations for Screens say that “The alert must be made by placing the Alert Card 

over the last call of the screen mate, in his segment of the bidding tray; the alerted player 

must acknowledge by returning the Alert Card to his opponent.” (see also Regulations for 
Screens of the BBF 5.1) 
 

Apparently South did not alert her 1 as prescribed. Her not alerting the conventional bid of 

1 properly is an infraction of the law as she gives wrong information to her screen mate 

West. It is hard to believe that West would bid 1 if he had had the correct explanation. He 

would probably have passed and NS would probably have reached 3NT. 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table is annulled and replaced by 3NT played NS +1, being +630 for 

Team A. The balance of board 13 then is 0, instead of -13VPs for Team A.  

The final result of the match Cercle Perron 3 – Teuten 1 therefore is 77-96 

(instead of 77-109) in IMPs or 6,38-13,62 (instead of 4,5-15,5) in VPs. 

 

Paul Meerbergen 

 

 


