
Ruling Perron 7 – Verviers 1  (3 Nat D) of 1 October 2016 

 

 

Board 11  S/- 

 

 K J 7 5 4    

 Q 6 4 3 

 7 6 2 

 8 

 10       8 6 2 

 J 9 7 5     A K    

 A K 4 3    Q J 9 8  

 10 9 5 3    A K 4 2 

 A Q 9 3   

 10 8 2 

 10 5 

 Q J 7 6 

Bidding 

N E S W 

P P 

P 1NT P 2   

P 2 P 2
A
  

P 2 P 2NT  

P 3NT  all pass 

 

Preliminary remark 

In the diagram on the form West held only 11 cards. 5 and 3 were missing. 

 

Facts 

West claims he explained his 2 to South as “4-4 /, in principle”. After 2NT and 3NT he 

said that East had promised 3 cards in Spades and 2 in Hearts and that he himself was “short 

in Spades”. 

Team B points out that West bid 2NT though 2 was not forcing and that a lead in Spades 

would have beaten the contract. According to them this lead was made impossible by the 

wrong information of 2. They ask to adjust the score. 

 

Ruling 

A conventional bid is to be fully explained; West’s explanation of 2 can be considered as 

not complete (what does ‘in principle’ mean?) and therefore wrong. 

Apparently this wrong information did not have any impact on the bidding.  

West claims he gave the correct information to South before his lead. This statement is not 

contradicted by Team B.  

So at the moment of his lead South had the correct information. Therefore Team B was not 

disadvantaged by the initial wrong information. 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table stands. 

 

Paul Meerbergen 


