
Ruling Perron 3 – Riviera 1  ( Nat I ) of 23 January 2016 

 

Board 6  E/EW 

 

 A Q J 4 2    

 - 

 Q 10 9 8 5 

 Q 9 5 

 K 8 7 6 5     9 3 

 J 10 5 2     A 9 7 6 4 3   

 A 7 6    J 3  

 A     J 8 2 

 10   

 K Q 8 

 K 4 2 

 K 10 7 6 4 3 

Bidding 

N E S W 

P 1
A
 Dbl  

Rdbl 1 2 P 

2 P 3 P 

3
 A

 Dbl 3NT all pass
 

 

 

Facts 

Declaration of Team A: West’s double is simply a classical take out: as the 1 opening does 

not specify which minor the opener has, West decides to double to show an opening without 

natural bid. 

Declaration of Team B: West’s double was not alerted or explained as opening or hand with 

both majors. The lead was J, followed by 5 - A - 8. East returned  for K - 5 - ?. 

Thinking that West’s double is a normal take out, South continued with K protecting his 

Clubs against singleton J in East. After playing A West continued Hearts and the contract 

was beaten by three. South thinks that this kind of double should be explained as majors. With 

that explanation normal play for South would have been small . 

 

Ruling 

NS play Strong Club.  

If in EW’s system double on the conventional 1 opening is not a specific defence against the 

conventional opening bid there is no need to alert it, as it commonly shows both majors. 

There is no reason to doubt NS’s declaration that the double was a classical take out.  

With West’s hand some players might choose to bid 1 instead of double, but that choice is 

up to the player. 

The absence of an alert on the double is not considered as wrong information. 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table stands. 

 

 

Paul Meerbergen 


