
Ruling 3Vallées – Wavre 1  (3 Nat D) of 10 October 2015 

 

Preliminary note 

No teams were mentioned in the form … 

 

Board 31  S/NS 

 10 6    

 A 8 7   

 Q J 7  

 A K Q 10 7 

 -      K Q J 8 7 5 4 

 Q J 10 9 6 4    5   

 A 9 4 2    10 5 3 

 9 8 3    6 5  

 A 9 3 2   

 K 3 2  

 K 8 6 

 J 4 2  

Bidding 

N E S W 

  P 2
A 

P 2
A
 P 3  

P 3 all pass 

 

Facts 

2 is alerted as Multi. 

2 is alerted by East to North as “to play”, West explains it to South as “to play 3” 

3 is explained to South as “to play”. 

After the lead East says to West “you have given the wrong explanation, I don’t want to play 

3, I want to play 3. 

This bidding sequence is not mentioned in the convention card. 

NS claim that if East passes, South will probably keep the bidding going and NS might reach 

game. 

 

Ruling 

It is very strange that East knows how West explained his bid of 2! When playing with 

screens all questions and answers must be written down, so it is impossible for the partner to 

know (hear) what explanation is given… 

It is normal that the bidding sequence is not to be found in the convention card. The 

explanation “Multi” apparently was clear to the opponents. In Multi partner’s 2 is 

convertible to . If East then bids 3 it is obvious he wants to play 3. By his 2 he had 

already indicated he was not interested in game. 

 

NS’s remark that IF East had passed the bidding have gone, is not relevant: he did bid 3. 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table is maintained. 

 

Paul Meerbergen 


