
Ruling Perron 2 – Riviera 3 (1 Nat) of 28 November 2015 

 

 

Board 7  S/All    

 

 J x      

 J 10 9 x  

 x 

 A K 10 x x x 

 x      A K 10 x  

 K Q x x     -    

 A J 10 x x    K Q x x x x x  

 x x x     J x 

 Q 9 8 x x x  

 A 8 x x x 

 -  

 Q 9 

Bidding 

N E S W 

  2 P 

4 P P Dbl 

All pass 

 

Facts 

Screens are in use. 

 

Play  

N E S W N E S W 

   x x K x 

 A x x J 

 K x x x  

Q x x x 

  A x x x 

  x Q 9 x 

   K 10 x x 

   x J x 8 

x x Q x 

…. 

 

Both teams disagree on what happened after trick 9 and play goes on. EW still win four tricks. 

 

Declaration of Team A: after the ninth trick declarer says the clubs are good and plays 9. He 

did not claim the rest of the tricks and did not put his cards on the table. 

Declaration of Team B: after the ninth trick declarer claims, says “all clubs are good” and puts 

his cards on the table.  

 

Ruling 

Law 68A says “Any statement to the effect that a contestant will win a specific number of 

tricks is a claim of those tricks.”  



Both parties agree that declarer said “all clubs are good” at the moment there were still four 

cards in dummy, all clubs (declarer still holding 9). In accordance with Law 68A his words 

are to be considered as a claim for the four remaining tricks (“any statement…”).  

 

Law 70D1  says “The Director shall not accept from claimer any successful line of play not 

embraced in the original clarification statement if there is an alternative normal* line of play 

that would be less successful. (*’normal’ includes play that would be careless or inferior for 

the class of player involved.)”   

 

It is true that declarer did not act as required by Law 68C (“A claim should be accompanied 

at once by a clear statement as to the order in which cards will be played, of the line of play 

or defence through which the claimer proposes to win the tricks claimed”), but it is clear that 

after playing x to his Q he wanted to cash the remaining tricks in clubs.    

 

Conclusion: a claim was actually made and play should have ceased. The claim is accepted as 

it is clear the only normal line of play is to play all clubs, which declarer clearly intended to 

do. 

 

 

Decision 

The result reached at the table is annulled and replaced by 4 doubled played by North, result 

-1 (instead of -5), being +200 for Team A. 

The balance on board 7 then is +400 for Team B (600-200), which is +9 IMPs for Team B 

instead of -13. 

 

After two rulings (boards 3 and 7) the final score of the match Perron 2- Riviera 1 is 93-

98 in IMPs or 9,04-10,96 in VPs (instead of 13,59-6,41) 

 

 

 

Paul Meerbergen 

 

 


