Ruling Westrand 1 — Phenix 4 (3 Nat A) of 14 November 2015
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Facts

Screens are in use.

According to Team A INT is explained by EW as two suiter minors. This explanation
corresponds to what EW’s convention card says. Team A claims that South could have bid 3 ¢
and EW would then have ended in 3w if they had known West’s actual hand.

According to Team B West had forgotten the convention (LNT after 1 = 2 minors).

Ruling

According to Team A’s statement both East and West explained INT as showing a 2 suiter
(“explained by EW”). On the other hand in EW’s statement it says West had forgotten the
convention. Did he nevertheless give the right explanation, or was it only East that explained
the bid as a two suiter?

Whatever the case, EW’s convention card states that INT after opponents’ 1% shows 2
minors; so the information that was given corresponds to the system EW play and therefore,
no infraction of the law was made. See Law 40A3 “A player may make any call or play
without prior announcement provided that such call or play is not based on an undisclosed
partnership understanding) ““ and Law 40 C1 “A player may deviate from his side’s
announced understandings always provided that his partner has no more reason to be aware
of the deviation than have the opponents. Repeated deviations lead to implicit understandings
which then form part of the partnership’s methods and must be disclosed in accordance with
the regulations governing disclosure of system.



Decision

The result reached at the table stands.

Bearing in mind that repeated deviations lead to implicit understandings (Law 40C1) EW’s
deviation is recorded and may be taken into account in future rulings.

Paul Meerbergen



