
Ruling Phenix 4 – Chaver 4 number 2 (3 Nat A) of 7 November 2015 

 

 

Board 7  Z/All 

 

 Q 9 8    

 A K Q 9 6 

 8 5 2 

 6 3  

 K J 7 6 3     - 

 10      8 5 2   

 A 10 6    K J 9 7  

 Q J 9 2    A K 10 8 7 5 

 A 10 5 4 2   

 J 7 4 3 

 Q 4 3  

 4  

Bidding 

N E S W 

  P 1 

2 Dbl 4 P  

P Dbl all pass 

 

 

Facts 

Screens are in use. 

 

East’s double after North’s  2 is explained by West to South as fit in Spades (three cards in 

Spades). Because of that explanation South bids 4. 

Team B agrees with the statement, but points out that East had a bidding problem: EW play 

Bergen, as a result of which East could not bid 3 as this would mean support with a 4 card 

in Spades. Therefore, East decides to double, thus deviating from a partnership agreement, 

bearing in mind that 5 is a winning alternative if a possible 4 is not doubled. 

 

Ruling 

Law 40C1 says that a player may deviate from his side’s announced understandings always 
provided that his partner has no more reason to be aware of the deviation than have the 

opponents.   

 

EW’s convention card states that they play Bergen raises, in which case East could not show 
his length in clubs by bidding 3. Though the convention card is not airtight as it does not 

mention whether or not – and if so how - the convention changes after an opponent’s overcall, 
there is no reason to doubt East’s explanation of his bidding. 
 

NS are entitled to receive the right information on EW’s system. That is what they got, so 
there is no infraction of the law. 

 

 

 



Decision 

The result reached at the table stands.  

Bearing in mind that repeated deviations lead to implicit understandings (Law 40C1) EW’s 
deviation is recorded and may be taken into account in future rulings. 

 

EW is advised to complete their convention card as to Bergen Raises after an overcall. 

 

Paul Meerbergen 
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