
Ruling Perron 3 – Chaver 1  (1 Nat) of 11 October 2014 
 
Board 1  N/- 

♠ A x x   
♥ A K J x x x   
♦ x x  
♣ J x 

♠ x x x    ♠ 10 x 
♥ x x     ♥ 10 x   
♦ Q J x x   ♦ K x x x x x  
♣ A Q x x   ♣ 10 x x 

♠ K Q J x x   
♥ Q x x  
♦ A 
♣ K x x x  

Bidding 
N E S W 
1♥ P 1♠ P  
2♥ P 4♣A P 
4♠ P 4NT P 
3 Aces P 6♥ all pass 
 
Facts 
In the closed room 4♣ is alerted at both sides of the screen. West did not ask any question 
about the alert, North answered positively to East’s question “Splinter?” 
 
East leads Diamonds and the contract is made. Team A complains that with the “correct” 
explanation East would have led Clubs, by which the contract would have gone one down. 
 
 
Ruling 
North’s explanation corresponds to NS’s convention card, which stipulates that they use 
splinter bids. In their system NS also bid controls but first and second controls are bid 
simultaneously (see convention card). 
Law 40C1 says “A player may deviate from his side’s announced understandings always 
provided that his partner has no more reason to be aware of the deviation than have the 
opponents. Repeated deviations lead to implicit understandings which then form part of the 
partnership’s methods and must be disclosed in accordance with the regulations governing 
disclosure of system.” 
On the basis of the law mentioned above we must conclude that North did not commit an 
infraction, EW got the right information on the system NS play. However, the deviation is 
recorded; future similar deviation by the same pair may be interpreted as implicit 
understandings. 
 
Decision 
The result reached at the table is maintained. 
 
Paul Meerbergen 
 


